ONE YEAR IN BLOGGING – MY STORY

ImageInspired by the work of Joe Saward and Peter Windsor, my childhood writing heroes, ‘stoodonthepodium’ was formed.

Blogging was something I had contemplated for a while in the hope of expressing my feelings and thoughts about the crazy Motorsport world I enjoy so much. My family do not share this love to the same extent but I knew there were other people out there who felt the same as me.

However, I was unsure whether the ramblings of a small town girl could ever matter.

I must say, it is a relief to know that others share my love. I have, in the past, been pulled aside by my friends, who tell me they simply do not care that Vettel has a stranglehold on this decade, Mercedes have been involved in illegal tyre activity or that James Allison vacated his role at Lotus.

I must confess, a very accurate doodle of the Circuit de Monte Carlo appeared on the back of some homework when I was at school.

If I am honest, ‘stoodonthepodium’ was founded almost by accident. It was not meant to become what it has. I remember gaining my first ever view for my thoughts on the Romain Grosjean’s 2012 debacle in Spa. I was desperate to know who it was from Panama who had chosen my blog among all the others.

When I think that somebody, I don’t know, is willing to take the time to read what I have to say, it makes me feel grateful to be a part of this incredible racing community. On behalf of all writers everywhere, I can assure you that the time a complete stranger takes to read each word is nothing short of humbling.

The opportunities which have grown from ‘stoodonthepodium’ continue to amaze me. Interviewing John Surtees is one highlight I must select from an overwhelming year. Motorsport fandom can do many things to us, make us annoyed at tyre situations, confused by some driver choices and frustrated by the continuation of “pay drivers”, however it rarely makes me emotional.

Never had Motorsport made me cry. Until that day.

My rather lengthy chat with Peter Windsor was also incredible. My personal hero was wonderful company and was willing to share snippets of his life and experiences with me. Little me. He was the one who introduced me to Jim Clark, a racer who is incomparable in my opinion. Peter may not know this, but he is the reason I write. He is the reason I have decided to dedicate my time to the sport I love.

As for Emma Buxton and her tale of Michael Schumacher, I do not know where to begin.

Oli Webb too is a man who has opened my eyes to the tough fight all young and ambitious drivers have to get noticed. Through his regular columns, he has invited us to join him on his journey in Formula Renault 3.5 as he aims for the top spot in Motorsport. Talking to him is always a thrill, not least because a, normally inaccessible side of a driver’s life, is exposed in a revealing and informative manner.

When I reflect on the last twelve months I think of the Motorsport community I have joined. It is my pleasure to be part of this ever expanding world. I just hope there are many, many more years ahead of me. Thank you for coming on this journey with me.

If any of you are debating whether to blog, don’t let anything stop you – you have nothing to lose.

I hope one day, whoever you are, whatever you do, whoever your legend is, you can meet your Sir John or your Peter Windsor too.

One thought on “ONE YEAR IN BLOGGING – MY STORY

  1. Congratulations Katie, it was a fantastic year for you. I still do remember your first posts and you’ve made such a great progress since then, but you have never lost any bit of your magic. In the last year I’ve most enjoyed an ode to Ayrton Senna and your interviews with Emma Buxton and Peter Windsor. I hope the second year of Stood On The Podium will be even better, I wish you all the best and a big success, you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

