From the Pit Lane – Peter Dempsey

peterdempseyracing‘From the Pit Lane’ is back but this time, ‘stoodonthepodium’ has an exclusive behind the scenes pass to Peter Dempsey’s Indy Lights race weekend in Iowa.  Following his unprecedented Freedom 100 victory in Indianapolis, which saw four cars split by a few hundredths, it is fair to say, this is one of Peter’s most consistent seasons.

In Iowa, Peter showed great determination to push his Belardi Auto Racing from eighth to fourth position. This drive means Peter maintains his fourth place in the championship standings.

With exclusive photos, videos, quotes and stories along the way, Peter shows you what his race preparations were like, his post race thoughts and what it is really like to be a professional racing driver.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PREPARING FOR THE RACE:

“I focus on trying to get myself in the right mental state heading into the race.  It’s important to be fully focused on what I need to do in the race.  I like to wind myself up before the race so that I am ready to go out and do the best job I can.  Once I’m on the grid, I’ll do a short stretching session before I get in the car, make sure my helmet is ready to go, and go out and do my job.”

THE CROWD:

“The fans are what make the sport possible.  Without them, we wouldn’t be able to put a show on for anybody. They are the most important part of the weekend. It’s great to be able to perform in front of an excited crowd.  That really pumps up the atmosphere around the arena!”

EXCLUSIVE VIDEO: INTRODUCING PETER’S MECHANICS

REMOVING THE HELMET:

“If it’s a good weekend, like when I won the Freedom 100, I have a lot of media commitments after the race which tend to go on for about an hour.  Otherwise, I have a bit of a debrief session with my engineers, go over the race weekend, and try to figure out how we can improve for the next race. Then I get changed out of my race suit and get ready to go out for a good dinner.  You can’t beat going out for a good dinner after the weekend!”

EXCLUSIVE VIDEO: SUKUP Q&A

POST RACE ASSESSMENT:

“The race at Iowa Speedway started off very tough.  We got a good start, but had an imbalance in the car which meant I dropped back to eighth. Over the first 15 laps I was working with tools to get the car to my liking. Then around laps 25-30, I felt the car was getting into a better position, and we started chasing down the guys in front of us. By end of the race, I had climbed to fourth and remained on the lead lap. It was a satisfying result from where we started, but obviously you go into races to win.  There is nothing more satisfying than when you bring home a first place trophy.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IOWA SPEEDWAY:

“Iowa speedway is probably one of the most fun ovals we get to drive in the season. The facility is top notch, and it’s really a track I look forward to racing at. The fans are always enthusiastic, and we always get a good attendance. With the track being so short, it’s like racing in a small arena compared to a bull ring which makes the track more exciting.”

EXCLUSIVE VIDEO: PROOF THAT ANYONE CAN GET A SPEEDING TICKET!

RECEIVING A SPEEDING TICKET:

“On Friday we had a media commitment to go to Sukup Manufacturing, who were the title sponsor of our race, the Sukup 100. Along the way, we picked up a speeding ticket which slowed us up a bit! Luckily, we played the “racecar driver on the way to a sponsor appearance” card and got away with a smaller fine! Then we eventually made it to the Sukup Manufacturing plant where we met with employees and got a full tour of their facility.  It was amazing to see how they build all their grain bins, and I really appreciated the amount of work that’s involved in what they do. It was an absolutely fantastic experience.  The people couldn’t have been any nicer to us, and it was something that I will always remember!”

EXCLUSIVE VIDEO: A TOUR OF PETER’S TRAILER 

Thank you to Peter Dempsey, Mandy Skinner and the Belardi Auto Racing team for their time.

Leave a Reply

