Huertas triumphs in the rain for debut win

AUTO - WORLD SERIES BY RENAULT MOTORLAND 2013From four races, four different drivers have emerged victorious in Formula Renault 3.5 as Carlos Huertas drove his Carlin onto the top step of the podium during race two at Motorland Aragon.

The Columbian, now in his second year in the series, mastered wet conditions to finish ahead of Sergey Sirotkin (ISR) and Stoffel Vandoorne (Fortec Motorsports).

Engine faults, later found to be caused by high levels of oil consumption, forced organisers to take unprecedented measures to shorten the time allocated in qualifying and the race. In the end, rain interrupted the qualifying session causing it to eclipse the new fifteen minute time slot. Norman Nato secured his first pole in the DAMS whilst Carlos Huertas and Sergey Sirotkin completed the top three grid positions.

Adding yet more incident to an already eventful qualifying, Saturday’s winner Kevin Magnussen (DAMS) caused a red flag, bringing a sudden halt to proceedings. Unable to provide a sufficient fuel sample, Magnussen was demoted to the back of the grid for race two.

The rain continued prompting the race director to order a safety car start; however the cars of Arthur Pic (AV Formula) and Marlon Stockinger (Lotus) were left stranded on the grid, ruling them out of the race start. Pole sitter Norman Nato did not convert his pole into the win he had hoped, an incorrect braking decision forced him to rejoin the race at the back of the field. The Frenchman was later handed a drive-through penalty for dangerous driving.

This allowed Carlos Huertas to take the lead. The race winner spoke of how the weather conditions did not affect him during the race.

“Although there was a little bit of aquaplaning out there, I managed to open up a gap. The car was just perfect.”

This pace was too much for his rivals and the Columbian began to command an impressive lead. Antonio Felix da Costa (Arden Caterham) and Kevin Magnussen, both race winners this year, recovered from their poor qualifying to finish in the points.

Stoffel Vandoorne’s mistake in the pit straight gifted Sergey Sirotkin with an advantage over the Belgian for second place. The fight to the chequered flag was spectacular but the Russian did enough to withstand the pace of the Formula Renault 2.0 champion from last year.

Christopher Zanella (ISR), Arthur Pic (AV Formula), Mihai Marinescu (Zeta Corse) and Marlon Stockinger (Lotus) all retired from the race as the weather conditions added yet more obstacles for the drivers. P1 Motorsport’s Will Stevens, Nico Muller (International Draco Racing), Nigel Melker (Tech 1 Racing), Antonio Felix da Costa and Andre Negrao (SMP Racing by Comtec) were joined by the two Danes, Kevin Magnussen and Marco Sorensen, to complete the points finishers.

This comeback is enough to help Magnussen maintain his championship lead over Stoffel Vandoorne. The Belgian insists that, for him, the title fight is not over.

“It wasn’t the greatest day for the team, though we still managed to pick up some points and cut the gap on Kevin”.

Results - 14 laps:

Pos Driver                  Team              Time/Gap
 1. Carlos Huertas          Carlin            33m19.005s
 2. Sergey Sirotkin         ISR               + 11.921s
 3. Stoffel Vandoorne       Fortec            + 16.429s
 4. Will Stevens            P1                + 24.691s
 5. Nico Muller             Draco             + 26.826s
 6. Nigel Melker            Tech 1            + 36.735s
 7. Antonio F. da Costa     Arden Caterham    + 42.074s
 8. Andre Negrao            Draco             + 44.125s
 9. Kevin Magnussen         DAMS              + 44.988s
10. Marco Sorensen          Lotus             + 55.215s
11. Mikhail Aleshin         Tech 1            + 1m00.192s
12. Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin            + 1m00.787s
13. Yann Cunha              AV Formula        + 1m17.038s
14. Matias Laine            P1                + 1m22.401s
15. Daniil Move             Comtec            + 1m34.292s
16. Lucas Foresti           Comtec            + 1m36.191s
17. Oliver Webb             Fortec            + 1m44.026s
18. Pietro Fantin           Arden Caterham    + 1m45.955s
19. Zoel Amberg             Pons              + 1m48.671s
20. Norman Nato             DAMS              + 1m55.868s
21. N.Martsenko             Pons              + 2m10.822s
22. Matheo Tuscher          Zeta Corse        + 1 lap


   Christopher Zanella      ISR	             9 laps
   Mihai Marinescu          Zeta Corse	     5 laps
   Arthur Pic               AV Formula	     1 laps
   M.Stöckinger             Lotus            0 laps

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s