From the Pit Lane – James Walker

Pole position turned into victory for James Walker on Sunday as he took his place on top of the podium following the first round of the FIA World Endurance Championship at Silverstone.  After a last minute call up to the Delta-ADR squad, James was thrown in at the deep end and made his LMP2 début last weekend.

With 13 ex-Formula 1 drivers in the field, it was always going to be a competitive race. James was competing alongside his team mates, Tor Graves and ex-Formula 1 driver Antonio Pizzonia.

‘stoodonthepodium’ had exclusive access to his race weekend. Providing you with images and his thoughts on the race, James is the first participant of the new ‘From the Pit Lane’ series.

jamesagain

“Rain, please ****off!”

“The weather played its part in increasing the weekend’s pressure, with all practise sessions affected by rain. This, plus sharing the seat time with my two team mates – Tor Graves and ex-Formula 1 driver Antonio Pizzonia, meant I only completed a handful of laps prior to qualifying.” 

Antonia_Pizzonia_and_James_Walker

“Qualified on pole with my team mate, Antonio Pizzonia”

“To take pole position at any circuit is great, but to do it at home in front of a huge crowed was amazing. We claimed pole with my last lap so it was a last gasp effort.”

james1

“All set. Let’s get racing”.

“To be getting your first feeling for what the car is capable of half way through a race, whilst leading, was a strange situation to be in but that’s what I was given so I just had to get on with it”

james2

“A brief shower caused havoc.”

“It was a case of finding a pace that I could stay at for the two hours and not risking the lead that we had built up. This was my first dry run of the weekend”. 

james4

“WE WON! huge thanks to everyone at Delta-ADR. The ultimate team effort and a great drive by team mates Antonio Pizzonia and Tor Graves.”

“We finished the weekend with a forty second lead, this result means that we lead both the team and drivers World Championship as the FIA WEC heads to the world famous Spa Francorchamps.”

jamesthumb

“This is what I think about managing to get time to fly out and see my sis, parents, wife and daughter for a few days.”

I’m not sure what the future holds at this stage. My Silverstone deal was a one off but my management and I will be working on getting me out on track at the next round in a few weeks.”

James Walker is the first driver to participate in the ‘From the Pit Lane’ series for ‘stoodonthepodium’. Congratulations to James and the team for their win in Silverstone. I would also like to wish him the best of luck with his future.

Leave a Reply

