THE INSIDE TRACK – OLI WEBB ON HALF MARATHONS, TESTING AND TURNING 22

olitest2
I tried to avoid telling anyone that it was my birthday for concentration purposes!”

The World Series by Renault concluded its collective test in Barcelona this week. The backdrop may be classic but some record breaking times were set. Once again, Oli Webb took time out of his busy schedule to share his thoughts on the test, running a half marathon and turning 22.

olirunGIVING BACK
The Adidas half marathon was great fun, raising over £1000 for Caudwell Kids charity, they have now enlisted myself as a Celebrity Ambassador which I’m thrilled about. We ran the last part of the run in suits and helmets which was great fun but very tough!

I was running with my old friend Riki Christo who I used to be team mates with in Formula Renault.The day before the race, Riki had a McDonalds! “Usain did it, so can I!”
My recovery was fine, I was straight down south later that day for Red Bull simulator work and training the day after but had no problems which is good news for the fitness!
ONE YEAR OLDER
olitest3Thanks for the birthday messages! It was business as usual though. P1 and P2 in the morning of the second day and pushing hard working towards Monza in the afternoon.
I tried to avoid telling anyone that it was my birthday for concentration purposes! Although once in the hire car for an hour, delayed plane and then 3 hours drive at 2am back up home I wished I had told a few more people!
In terms of how I feel about testing in Spain compared to France, it depends on the weather and the track, I have no real preference on country! Barcelona was great and we had good weather so they have been the best 2 test days to date.
The car itself was great and we got a lot done, its looking good for Monza. We had mixed conditions with both wet and dry as well as some good warm tyre running.
SET FOR MONZA

I have mind coaching sessions, training sessions, Red Bull Simulator work, some press events, couple of Charity nights a visit to the Race workshop and the Mercedes F1 workshop as well as working at BAC Mono all in the lead up to Race 1 in Italy!

Oliver Webb is currently racing for Fortec Motorsports in the Formula Renault 3.5 series. 2013 marks his return to the series after time out competing in the Indy Lights in America. Now back racing in Europe, Oli will be giving us an insight into his season throughout 2013 here on ‘stoodonthepodium’. He was talking to editor Katie Grimmett.
IMAGES COURTESY OF OLIVER WEBB
Leave a Reply

